On toys and models.


Toy plane.

Toy plane.

I was watching my son play with one of his toy airplanes, and he was holding it by the tip of the wing and pretending to fly it through the air. He would stop in mid flight, and then spend time looking at the airplane from different angles. I remember doing the same thing when I was a kid, only what I played with was Airfix and Revell models of airplanes. I would spend many hours building the kits, and when completed I would hang the models from my bedroom ceiling.

My sons toy is an odd thing. It looks like it was made by someone who had a vague idea of what a WW2 P-47 Thunderbolt might look like, but it’s all wrong. The wings look like they came from a dive bomber, or maybe a P-51 Mustang. I like the oddness of it, and so I decided to paint my own version. I combined two of my favourite models that I built as a child, and so my painting is a mashup of a Spitfire, with a little bit of aHurricane.

Airfix.

Airfix.

4 thoughts on “On toys and models.

Leave a Reply

