Have you met…Donald Martiny?


Aruan, 2013, polymer and pigment, 72H x  43 W inches

Aruan, 2013, polymer and pigment, 72H x 43 W inches

An introduction can be a wonderful thing. You can meet interesting people, and make new friends. You can be introduced to your new favorite foods, books, music, or artist. I’d like to introduce you to some of my favorite artists. Some of whom I’ve been familiar with for years, and others I’ve only recently been introduced to. The person I’d like to introduce is the artist Donald Martiny.

Guajiro, 2013, polymer and dispersed pigment, 92H x 50 W inches.

Guajiro, 2013, polymer and dispersed pigment, 92H x 50 W inches.

Donald Martiny is an artist living and working in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

b. 1953, Scotia, NY

U'wa, 2013,  polymer and pigment,  77H x 43 W inches.

U’wa, 2013, polymer and pigment, 77H x 43 W inches.

Statement

“My interest lies in freeing the gesture from the traditional rectangular shaped
support and exploring its potential. My goal is to create work that encourages
a dialogue within the architectural space where it resides and with the viewer.

Painting has traditionally been pretty much a figure/ground situation.
One begins with a defined ground, usually a square or rectangle, and
makes a painting to fit that shape.
For me, that was problematic for a number of reasons:
1. I didn’t like the historical reference to a door or window.
2. The ground became an unnecessary part of the painting as an object.
I decided to make paintings without the ground so the painting itself becomes
the gesture.

Additionally, I want to put the human experience into it. In a sense they are self portraits, a direct reflection of my physicality at a specific time.

I create the works on the floor, moving around them. I often use brooms for
brushes. The paint is a mixture of polymers and dispersed pigment.
Sometimes I add micro bubbles to make them lighter. As a veteran oil painter, I enjoy the idea that in this exploration I am using materials employing nanotechnology and brooms.” DM

Awa, 2013, polymer and dispersed pigment, 48H x 96W inches.

Awa, 2013, polymer and dispersed pigment, 48H x 96W inches.

Other material relating to Donald Martiny.

Artist website: donaldmartiny.com

Blog: Donald Martiny

Studio Critical: Donald Martiny

Artsy: Donald Martiny

Fort Wayne Museum of Art: Donald Martiny

George Lawson Gallery: Donald Martiny

George Lawson Gallery Blog: Donald Martiny

Galleri Urbane: Donald Martiny

Art, Artists, and Galleries: Donald Martiny

If you liked this introduction check out the PREVIOUS and NEXT.

4 thoughts on “Have you met…Donald Martiny?

  1. Pingback: Have you met…Tamara N. Vuksa? | Painter's Progress

  2. Pingback: Have you met…Peter Maslow? | Painter's Progress

Leave a Reply

