Have you met…Tamar Zinn?


Broadway 95 / Dance with me, 2012 . 24 x 28" . oil on wood panel

Broadway 95 / Dance with me, 2012 . 24 x 28″ . oil on wood panel

An introduction can be a wonderful thing. You can meet interesting people, and make new friends. You can be introduced to your new favorite foods, books, music, or artist.

I’d like to introduce you to some of my favorite artists. Some of whom I’ve been familiar with for years, and others I’ve only recently been introduced to.

The person I’d like to introduce is the artist Tamar Zinn.

Broadway 102, 2012 . 24 x 36" . oil on wood panel

Broadway 102, 2012 . 24 x 36″ . oil on wood panel

Statement

“In my paintings, I explore the expression of color, texture, and spatial relationships through the lens of geometric abstraction. These visual elements are integrated with sensory experiences that are generally considered part of the vocabulary of music and dance. The conversations between activity and calm, surface and depth, complexity and simplicity, are of particular interest to me.

Along with placing color against color and finding rhythm in the forms, is my desire to provide a space for contemplation. Without moments to pause, what surrounds us becomes a cacophony of blurred experiences.

My process is leisurely and reflective, but I do not rely on a system or set of rules to develop each painting. Forms are loosely painted in, adjusted, perhaps eliminated, only to re-emerge in later stages of the painting. There is no pre-conceived endpoint in either composition or palette. In some paintings, the more tonal palette reflects a decision to develop a meditative space, while the more spirited palette in other paintings often mirrors my response to a piece of music. Areas are built up and sanded down — to lessen the finality of the paint layer, as well as to reveal what was hidden below the surface. Although the paintings are structured with defined blocks of color, it is my intention to diminish that sense of certainty and put the blocks in play. Ultimately, reaching the end point of each painting is about finding the just right balance between activity and calm, between reasoned decision making and intuition.” TZ

Criss Cross 29, 2013 . 9.75 x 10.5" . oil on paper

Criss Cross 29, 2013 . 9.75 x 10.5″ . oil on paper

Criss Cross 4, 2013 . 9.75 x 10.5" . oil on paper

Criss Cross 4, 2013 . 9.75 x 10.5″ . oil on paper

Other material relating to Tamar Zinn.

Artist website: tamarzinn.com

Blog: Tamar Zinn

Kathryn Markel Fine Arts: Tamar Zinn

Lynette Haggard Art Blog: Tamar Zinn

Geoform: Tamar Zinn

Lisa Pressman Art Blog: Tamar Zinn

ArtSlant: Tamar Zinn

If you liked this introduction please check out the PREVIOUS and NEXT.

2 thoughts on “Have you met…Tamar Zinn?

  1. Pingback: Have you met…Paul Komada? | Painter's Progress

  2. Pingback: Have you met…Rachael Macarthur? | Painter's Progress

Leave a comment