Long Series #1365.


#1365

#1365

With this Long Series painting I folded and creased the paper as I worked on it. I poured paint into the folds and let it run, and bleed.

Have you met…Gwennan Thomas?


An introduction can be a wonderful thing. You can meet interesting people, and make new friends. You can be introduced to your new favorite foods, books, music, or artist.

I’d like to introduce you to some of my favorite artists. Some of whom I’ve been familiar with for years, and others I’ve only recently been introduced to.

The artist I’d like to introduce is the painter Gwennan Thomas, and she was recommended to me by Karl Bielik, and Terry Greene.

Oil on Ply Board 2012

Oil on Ply Board 2012

Born in France, 1984

Lives and works in London

EDUCATION:

2008-11   Wimbledon College of Art, University of the Arts London, BA Hons Fine Art: Painting

Oil on Ply Board 2012

Oil on Ply Board 2012

“I am interested in the relationship between memory and place in film and architecture and creating paintings and installations based on the visual imprint left by these. Drawing is fundamental to my practice in creating a language of motifs, negative space, shapes and lines reflecting this idea of visual residue and fragmentation within memory. I enjoy contradictions in the very material processes of painting and the immaterial or transient aspects of film.” GT

Other material relating to Gwennan Thomas.

Artist Website: Gwennan Thomas.

Studio Critical: Gwennan Thomas.

Pinters’ Table: Gwennan Thomas.

ArtSlant: Gwennan Thomas.

patternsthatconnect: Gwennan Thomas.

If you liked this introduction please check out the Previous and Next.