Have you met…EC?


An introduction can be a wonderful thing. You can meet interesting people, and make new friends. You can be introduced to your new favorite foods, books, music, or artist.

I’d like to introduce you to some of my favorite artists. Some of whom I’ve been familiar with for years, and other I’ve only recently been introduced to.

The artist I’d like to introduce is the Painter EC.

UNTITLED, Oil, Oil-based household paint, Spray paint on Canvas, 100 x 100 cm’s, EC 2013

UNTITLED, Oil, Oil-based household paint, Spray paint on Canvas, 100 x 100 cm’s, EC 2013

EC is a London based painter. The artist’s work is currently available at The Interchange Gallery, 173 Whitecross Street, London EC1Y 8JT. EC is also member of the arts collective Fabelist http://www.thefabelist.com/

Untitled (LIFE FAIL), Acrylic & Permanent marker on Linen, 20 x 20 cm’s, EC 2013

Untitled (LIFE FAIL), Acrylic & Permanent marker on Linen, 20 x 20 cm’s, EC 2013

Artist Statement:
“I think there is a process going on internally that is not readily described with words. I suppose part of my work has always been about a struggle between verbal language with the ‘life’ of painting (and experience) and the problems of expressing something. Painting is a non verbal way of thinking and it operates in it’s own kind of space or gap. Perhaps it ‘exploits silence’.
For me painting can be about finding out about what I do not know – or don’t realise I know! Unconscious material filters into working practice and I must leave myself open so that these influences may surface. There are layers of paint (as there are layers of meaning) but I like to leave it open to the viewer rather than direct them. That’s also why most of my work is untitled.
I’d say that my practice is multifarious. I explore the relationships between many things that interest me: physical and psychological space, psychoanalytical theories of the Psyche (soul) and the Unconscious mind, Order/Disorder, physics, natural form, verbal language, the language of the unconscious and the linguistics of painting.
I sometimes start by writing on the canvas using automatic writing. At others times more conscious and deliberate words. These words might get obliterated or become part of the work visually (their literal meanings are not necessarily important). Layers get lost or come through to the next. So I must be OK with the loss of something to find something out. I encourage chaos, allowing an organic growth through free association. Acutally, I often need to overthrow it all and push it over if it is looking too comfortable. Perhaps I can leave a painting hovering in a place that is neither ordered nor chaotic.
Duality is ever present and this is not necessarily a conflict but something that forms something integral and vital. For me it is important to recognise and work with both sides of many coins! – The rational and irrational, subjective and objective, conscious and unconscious, order and chaos, the seen and unseen etc. I think that conflict itself makes for creative tension.”
(EC 2013)
Untitled, Oil on canvas, collage & Photoshop (text), EC 2011

Untitled, Oil on canvas, collage & Photoshop (text), EC 2011

Other material relating to Ec Artist:

ArtSlant. EC.

Into The Woods: By EC.

Fabelist: EC.

If you liked this introduction check out the Previous and Next.