Have you met…Phillip J. Mellen?


An introduction can be a wonderful thing. You can meet interesting people, and make new friends. You can be introduced to your new favorite foods, books, music, or artist.

I’d like to introduce you to some of my favorite artists. Some of whom I’ve been familiar with for years, and other I’ve only recently been introduced to.

The artist I’d like to introduce the painter Phillip J. Mellen, and he was recommended to me by David T. Miller.

You have no new messages 17” x 24” Acrylic and latex on foam 2013

You have no new messages
17” x 24”
Acrylic and latex on foam 2013

Artist Statement:

“I go to the store, I pick out colors I like and I don’t use all of them all the time”

Documented by H. B

Another thought I have had is:

“Sometimes I get so caught up in painting that I forget to paint.”

I just brushed my teeth and you can still see my breath 16” x 18” Acrylic and latex on foam 2013

I just brushed my teeth and you can still see my breath
16” x 18”
Acrylic and latex on foam 2013

Curriculum Vitae 

Born 1976, Taunton, Massachusetts USA

Lives and Works in Taunton, MA

 Education

2003 Certificate, Painting, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, Philadelphia, PA

 Solo Exhibitions

2011  Paintings and Constructions, OKO Arts, New Bedford, MA

2009  Taunton Public Library, Taunton, MA

2008  Love, Waste, War, Recycle, Bristol Building Hall, New Bedford, MA

I woke up and this happened 30” x 24” Latex on foam 2013

I woke up and this happened
30” x 24”
Latex on foam 2013

Other material relating to Phillip J. Mellen:

Artconsequence: Joshua J. Barbosa and Phillip J. Mellen

Blogspot: Phillip J. Mellen – Paintings.

iTunes – Podcasts – ahtcast.

Ahtcast

Painters’ Table: A conversation between Sabine Tress and Phillip J. Mellen.

Vimeo: House of cards by Phillip J. Mellen.

Art Orbiter: Phillip J. Mellen

NewMediator: Phillip J. Mellen

If you liked this introduction check out the Previous and Next.