Have you met…Lael Marshall?


An introduction can be a wonderful thing. You can meet interesting people, and make new friends. You can be introduced to your new favorite foods, books, music, or artist.

I’d like to introduce you to some of my favorite artists. Some of whom I’ve been familiar with for years, and other I’ve only recently been introduced to.

The person I’d like to introduce is the artist Lael Marshall.

Crust 2013 oil, acrylic, thread on linen and fabric 2.5 x 16 in.

Crust 2013 oil, acrylic, thread on linen and fabric 2.5 x 16 in.

Artist Statement

“I don’t care how I get there, but my work must be specific, and clear, and surprising, which is to say, not obvious, or else it goes on probation.  I might revisit it in part, or in whole, after time; adding to, or taking away from it. I give the work time and room to reform itself, but if it doesn’t shape up, I kill it.”

Hankie Painting, 2012 acrylic, casein on synthetic handkerchief 11 x 10 in.

Hankie Painting, 2012
acrylic, casein on synthetic handkerchief
11 x 10 in.

Drama Queen, 2010 oil and acrylic on various materials 92 x 75 in.

Drama Queen, 2010 oil and acrylic on various materials 92 x 75 in.

Other material relating to Lael marshall:

ArtSlant: Lael Marshall.

Curating Contemporary: Lael Marshall.

Youtube: Lael Marshall at her studio.

The Brooklyn Rail: Lael Marshall and DeWitt Godfrey.

The Drawing Center – Viewing Program.

If you liked this introduction check out the Previous and Next.

4 thoughts on “Have you met…Lael Marshall?

  1. Pingback: Have you met…Sabine Tress? | Painter's Progress

  2. Pingback: Have you met…Brian Cypher? | Painter's Progress

  3. Pingback: Family Ties: Brooklyn/Dallas. Mostly Brooklyn Artists Commune with mostly Dallas Artists | Painter's Progress

Leave a comment